Individuation in the Main Characters of J.K. Rowling’s HARRY POTTER Series

S. Ines Linando, Ribut Basuki


This paper examines the individuation of Potter and Voldemort in Harry Potter series. To be a holistic individual, a person needs to be individuated by managing their three main archetypes. The three main archetypes are persona, shadow, and anima or animus. Potter and Voldemort have to manage their archetypes their journey as human beings. Each of them has to know his persona including his appearance, behavior and role; confront his shadow; and balance his anima. In the end, Potter manages himself to be a individuated person who can lead a good life, while Voldemort fails to be an individuated person and, as a result, he died.


individuation, archetypes, persona, shadow, anima, individuated

Full Text:



Knox, J. (2003). Archetype, attachment, analysis. New York: Brunner-Routledge.

Mehrtens , S. (n.d.). Components of individuation 1: What is individuation?.

Retrieved from

Pettifor, E. (1995). Personality & consciousness. Retrieved from

Rowling, J. K. (1998). Harry potter. (Vol. Book 1). London, England:

Scholastic Press.

Rowling, J. K. (1999). Harry potter and the chamber of secrets. New York,

Toronto, Mexico City, and Hong Kong: Scholastic Books.

Rowling, J. K. (2010). Harry potter and the deathly hallows. (1st ed. ed.).

London: Bloomsbury Publishing.

Rowling, J. K. (2000). Harry potter and the goblet of fire. New York: Scholastic.

Rowling, J. K. (2003). Harry potter and the order of the phoenix. (1st ed. ed.).

Broadway: Scholastic.



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Supported by


Indexed by

Statistic Installed since 17 December 2018
View My Stats