THE WIEKTS

Eugenia Lupita, Budi Darma

Abstract


In this project, I would like to convey the reality of a patriarchal society through fiction and more specifically, fantasy. This project focuses on the lives of the four major characters representing a patriarchal family. It also focuses on the struggles that each of the characters have between following their own passion and the social expectations. The two themes used in this project are individual against society and male gender roles with the hegemonized patriarchal value as the basis. These values became the burden that men have to take in order to be accepted by the society. To portray this reality through fiction, I am using the realistic fantasy, a sub-genre of fantasy, as the genre of the four stories.


Keywords


Male gender roles, Individual against society, Social expectations, Realistic fantasy

Full Text:

PDF

References


Bogus, C. T. (2013, June 8). Edmund: A Blog. Retrieved September 19, 2013, from Edmund: A Blog Web Site: http://www.carltbogus.com/edmund-a-blog/87-realistic-fantasy-and-existential-dread

Driscoll, D. L. (2011). Introduction to Primary Research : Observations, Surveys, and Interviews. South Carolina: Parlor Press.

Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Britannica Online Academic Edition. Retrieved September 20, 2013, from Britannica Online Academic Edition: http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/689765/fantasy

Goldberg, M. L. (2001, 9 16). Faculty Washington. Retrieved 12 2, 2013, from Faculty Washington: http://faculty.washington.edu/mlg/courses/definitions/hegemony.html

Greer, G. (1986). The Madwoman's Underclothes.

Holland, T. (2013, 3 24). The Guardian. Retrieved 11 14, 2013, from http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2013/mar/24/game-of-thrones-realistic-history

Kayam, U. (1992). Para Priyayi. Jakarta: Pustaka Utama Grafiti.

Locke, J. (1689). Two Treatises of Government. London: Awnsham Churchill.

Martin, G. R. (1996). A Song of Ice and Fire. Bantam Books.

Marx, K. (1932). The Economic and Philosophic Manuscripts of 1844. Moscow: Progress Publishers.

Matterson, S. (2003). The American Novel. Retrieved 11 14, 2013, from http://www.pbs.org/wnet/americannovel/timeline/naturalism.html

McLeod, S. A. (2008). Social Roles and Social Norms - Simply Psychology. Retrieved September 19, 2013, from Simply Psychology: http://www.simplypsychology.org/social-roles.html

Rahn, J. (2011). The Literature Network. Retrieved 11 14, 2013, from http://www.online-literature.com/periods/naturalism.php

Serwer, A. (2011, 4 12). The Atlantic. Retrieved 11 14, 2013, from http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2011/04/game-of-thrones-when-fantasy-looks-like-reality/237196/

Sims, H. (2012, May 16). Crisis Magazine. Retrieved September 26, 2013, from Crisis Magazine Web Site: http://www.crisismagazine.com/2012/what-does-a-realistic-fantasy-look-like

Smith, E. (2006). Using Secondary Data in Educational and Social Research. Berkshire: Open University Press.

Tolkien, J. (1971). The Lord of The Rings Book One: The Fellowship of The Rings. New York: BALLANTINE BOOKS, INC.

Tolkien, J. (2012). The Hobbit. New York: HarperCollins.

UNESCO. (2006). Masculinity for Boys: Resource Guide for Peers Education. New Delhi, India




DOI: https://doi.org/10.9744/katakita.2.3.30-32

Refbacks

  • There are currently no refbacks.


Supported by

 

Indexed by



Statistic Installed since 17 December 2018
View My Stats